Campaigns - Action needed!

Woman and computer SX 1208422 89744071

This section contains information about current campaigns relating to matters such as proposed legislation, government inquiries, television programs and so on.

For each campaign, some form of action is needed!

A description of each issue - and guidelines for suggested action - are included in each campaign topic.

'Active campaigns' are below in blog format or to the LEFT in list format.
Some campaigns may have had a vote but are still 'active' as they are likely to be ongoing... 

'Completed Campaigns' are archived on a separate page and are marked with a 'C'.

Federal Parliament and MPsParl-House-photo-aph-792096

This webpage gives an overview of the federal parliament, contact details for the Prime Minister and links to obtain details of Members of the House of Representatives and Senators.

At the bottom of this page is a section about the current composition of the parliament following the 2013 federal election.


Australia's federal Parliament has two Houses - the lower house is called the House of Representatives and the upper house is the Senate.
Click here for the Australian Parliament website.
For an overview of the parliament on the APH website - click here.

The government is formed by the political party that has a majority in the House of Representatives. The Prime Minister is the leader of that party.

Prime Minister - Hon Malcolm Turnbull

      - The Prime Minister is the leader of the governing Party.

      - Malcolm Turnbull became the PM after defeating Tony Abbott in a leadership challenge in September 2015 [source].

The Coalition (Liberal/National) government won the election held on 7 September 2013.

Leader of the Opposition - Bill Shorten (ALP). 

Contacting your MPs and Senators

The Prime Minister
The PM's website
Contact the Prime Minister - Hon Malcolm Turnbull - you can send the PM an email online.

Federal Cabinet
For a list of Cabinet and other Ministers and portfolios, click here.  

Leader of the Opposition
Bill Shorten - click here for details.

Shadow Cabinet
Shadow Cabinet members and roles - click here.

House of Representatives - Members

The House of Representatives has a total of 150 Members.
Every voter has one MP in the House of Representatives.

Lists of Members - full details
This APH page contains lists of Members in the House of Representatives - alphabetically, by electorate, by party and by state.

Electorate - In order to find the name and details of your own Member in the House of Representatives, you need to know which Electorate you are in.
The Australian Electoral Commission has a special webpage called 'Online Enrolment Verification Facility' - just type in your details to find your federal and state electorates and local government information as well.
OR phone 13 23 26 to find out your electorate. (They will also give you MP details.)

Senate - Senators

The Senate has 76 Members - 12 for each State and 2 for each of the Territories (NT and ACT). Each voter is represented by ALL the Senators in their State or Territory.

Senators' details - this page gives details for all Senators.
To see an Alphabetical list - click here.
To find out your own State Senators (12 for each State, 2 for Territories) - click here - use Search box or click on your state.

Current composition of the government after the 2013 election

At the 2013 federal election held on 7 September 2014, the Coalition (Liberal Party and The Nationals) won government, gaining 90 seats in the House of Representatives.
The Labor Party won 55 seats.

The Prime Minister is Malcolm Turnbull, the leader of the Liberal Party. He defeated Tony Abbott in a leadership challenge in September 2015.

This was in contrast to the 2010 election, where the Coalition and Labor each won 72 seats - the Labor Party did a deal with Green MP Adam Bandt, the Independent from Tasmania Andrew Wilkie and two of the three rural Independents (Tony Windsor, Rob Oakeshott)  in order to form government giving them 76 seats. Bob Katter and WA National Tony Crook supported the Coalition.

The 2013 election results are on the Australian Electoral Commission website - click here.
- Full results for the House of Representatives seats - click here.
- Party representation in the House of Representatives - click here.

House of Representatives - 150 Members:
Coalition: 90 seats
[Liberal Party - 58; Liberal National Party (Qld) - 22; The Nationals - 9; Country Liberals (NT) - 1]
Labor: 55 seats
Greens: Adam Bandt
Independents: Andrew Wilkie (Tas); Cathy McGowan (Indi, Victoria).
Click here for the webpage listing all MPs by party, state, alphabetical, etc.
For a list by political party - click here, then click on "Members by party" and then select the party you require.

Senate - 76 Senators:
The new Senate will take effect on 1 July 2014.
At each federal election, HALF the Senators are up for election and they serve six year terms.

The WA Senate election is currently being disputed due to the loss of more than 1,000 ballot papers during the re-counting.
The AEC webpage detailing the Senate results - click here.

The Coalition does not have a majority in the Senate.

Electoral Pocketbook

Get the FREE book Electoral Pocket Book and the federal electoral Boundaries Map from the Australian Electoral Commission by phoning 13 2326 and asking for a copy!
The 2011 edition is now available online - click here. 
It provides lots of information about Australia's electoral system and elections.


Go to top